Urgent Action Item

Let Us Vote!

Let us vote!

Please feel free to use this letter to ask the Orange County Legislature to allow Monroe voters to decide their own political future. You can send it via email, or you can send a hard copy to the address below:

Email to:
KevinW.Hines@gmail.com,
myrna41@frontiernet.net,
mkin08@frontiernet.net,
katiebonelli2009@gmail.com,
jdisalvo@orangecountygov.com,
mamo46@optonline.net,
bcheney@orangecountygov.com,
jvero@orangecountygov.com,
vote@jeffberkman.com,
pruszkiewicz@orangecountygov.com,
jkulisek@orangecountygov.com,
tfaggione@orangecountygov.com,
cweachus@msn.com,
ljbenton@verizon.net,
legislatorrsullivan@gmail.com,
mrpaduch52@twc.com,
jodonnell@orangecountygov.com,
sbrescia@orangecountygov.com,
Brescia@Frontiernet.net,
votematt2011@hotmail.com,
legislature@co.orange.ny.us,
legislature@orangecountygov.com,
Jramppen@orangecountygov.com,
ceoffice@orangecountygov.com,

Mail To:

Orange Couny Legislatue
15 Matthews Street
Goshen, NY 10924

To:

Chairman of the Legislature L. Stephen Brescia
Majority Leader Melissa Bonacic
Minority Leader Matthew A. Turnbull
The Honorable Kevin W. Hines
The Honorable Myrna K. Kemnitz
The Honorable Katie Bonelli
The Honorable James DiSalvo
The Honorable Barry J. Cheney
The Honorable John S. Vero
The Honorable Michael Amo
The Honorable Jeffrey D. Berkman
The Honorable Paul Ruszkiewicz
The Honorable Curlie W. Dillard
The Honorable James M. Kulisek
The Honorable Thomas J. Faggione
The Honorable Christopher W. Eachus
The Honorable Leigh J. Benton
The Honorable Mike Anagnostakis
The Honorable Roseanne Sullivan
The Honorable Michael D. Paduch
The Honorable James D. O’Donnell
Cc: County Executive Steven M. Neuhaus

Dear Orange County Legislators:

I am a registered voter living in the Town of ___________________. I encourage you to support Monroe residents’ right to decide their own collective future. Please vote in favor of placing a referendum on November’s general election ballot which would allow Monroe voters to decide if the Village of Kiryas Joel should separate from Monroe.

Under their agreement to separate from Monroe with just 56 additional acres, Kiryas Joel made legal commitments to:
• Keep their school district boundaries the same as their new town boundaries
• Withdraw their appeal of a possible 507 acre annexation from Monroe
• Refrain from approving annexations from neighboring communities into Kiryas Joel for 10 years
If Kiryas Joel remains in Monroe, they will have more than half of the Town’s registered voters by 2021. That means that growing Village of Kiryas Joel would choose the winner of every Town election and permanently control
• The Monroe Town Council
• The Monroe Planning Board, and
• The Monroe Zoning Board of Appeals.
With control of these boards, the Kiryas Joel bloc would be free to establish high-density zoning throughout Monroe’s 13,000 acres. There would no longer be a clear boundary between Kiryas Joel and all of the other communities adjacent to Monroe. An influx of non-public-school families into Monroe will ensure the problems that we see with the East Ramapo School District in Rockland County.

Allowing Monroe residents to vote for separation would give them control of planning and zoning within their town and protect the future of the Monroe-Woodbury school district.

Please put this referendum on the ballot and let Monroe voters decide the future of their town.

Sincerely,

Signature:___________________________________

Address:____________________________________

Town:______________________________________


Let Us Vote

Download Word document here